Assumptions and I wonder.

Within the ICT world both within and outside the classroom it is often assumed that all students can access ICT either by a smart phone, home computer, laptop or other communicating devises. Sometimes we forget that this is not the case.

Over the last few weeks and working through this particular course, during one of those thinking moments, I was wondering about students who do not have access to computers. I managed to walk the streets around my home and found that there were quite a few homes where school age students reside that do not have a home computer or even access to other electronic devices.  This then brought to mind how do we cater for these students in the classroom? Are we as are teachers allowing these students more access time such as opening up school libraries before and after school to not disadvantage these students, I just wonder?

I wonder about how these students, especially the ones in high school, cope when others around them have two or three computers in the home and every electronic device known to man within easy reach.

I wonder if we as teachers just assume. Next time I walk into my classroom I know that I will not assume.

Further information on this subject can be found by clicking on the following link computer access (Yelland & Neal, 2013).

Reference:

Yelland, N., & Neal, G. (2013). Aligning digital and social inclusion: A study of disadvantaged students and computer access. Educ Inf Technol, 18, 133–149. doi: 10.1007/s10639-012-9223-y

 

Leave a Reply

